My First Rendezvous with a Miracle

Most of the supernatural encounters I have experienced have happened outside of the four walls of the church. The ministry of Jesus Christ which set the bar for what a ‘supernatural’ life might look was the same. In His first miracle Jesus truly showed He had some Aussie in Him by turning water into wine at a wedding. My former pastor put it like this – Jesus was an ‘as you go Christian’. That is  – as He was going  from here to there doing life He would encounter real people living real lives and He would minister to them in all manner of ways most of which involved supernatural miracles.

Throughout my life I have had some fairly radical ‘as you go’ supernatural encounters. I could probably be more proactive at seeking out these experiences but everyday I just let God know that I’m available to be used by Him in whatever way He sees fit and things just seem to happen.

I attended Bible College in Vancouver, Canada from 1989 -1992 and lived with a couple of other female students. I worked part-time at a burger joint called A&W to cover my bills. One Friday night as I made my way home from work I was walking up the corridor to our second floor apartment. I could hear a woman crying out for help. It wasn’t that loud but there was no mistaking the fear in her voice. The cry was coming from the apartment directly opposite my own. We were new to the building and we hadn’t yet met any of the neighbours. I stopped to listen and I could only hear my own heart beating loudly. Again the cry for help came. At that moment my heart was filled with courage and I committed myself to getting involved. I said to God ‘You better cover me because I’m going in.’ and at that I knocked on the door of the apartment where the cry was coming from.

The door was pulled open inwards and to the left I could see a couple cowering in the corner. They appeared to be very scared. A big man’s face came into to view through the partially open door. I asked if everything was ok and he told me that it was and to go away. Just as he was about to shut the door in my face I heard the whimper of a woman even though I could not see her and with that I stuck my foot in the door just before it closed. I then pushed the door further open. A very big man – a goliath of sorts had already turned his attention back to a very petite woman whose terrified eyes pleaded with me to help her. Goliath turned around and he was very angry. Whatever had been about to happen had been clearly interrupted and he was not a happy camper. Not one bit.

A violent fury washed over his face and I could the smell the strong scent of alcohol. He started to yell and swear at me – well at least I think that is what he did because for some reason I suddenly couldn’t hear a word he was saying. I started to smile a bit because without any sound he looked really funny going off his rocker. This made him even angrier. He tried to use the door to push me out of the apartment but I was having none of that. I was INVOLVED now. When it dawned on him that the plans had changed he went to either hit me or physically push me and then the unexplainable happened. I reached up and grabbed the shoulders of this man who was easily over 6 ft tall and weighed at least 120 kilos (240 lbs). I squeezed him hard and then as if he was a child I picked him up off the ground and threw him at least 5 metres down the corridor of the apartment building and at the same time I said ‘In the name of Jesus, I rebuke you’. He got up off the floor and looked back at me and with terror he ran for his life. Everyone stood shocked. Literally mouths dropped open, including my own.

The story went like this; the couple who were renting the apartment had invited the other two over as a blind date set up. They had all been drinking and doing recreational drugs all day. Goliath had begun to make advances toward the woman and had become increasingly aggressive until he’d tried to drag her to a bedroom to rape her. The other couple were too scared to call the police because of the all the drug paraphernalia and were in no condition to physically apprehend him because they were out of it. It was at this point that I entered the scene.

While I have ‘attended’ a building called a church for many years I have always instinctively understood that it’s just bricks and mortar. Jesus doesn’t live there because He lives in me. The simple truth is that WE are the church, the literal body of Christ. He’s not pinned to an address. You and I are His living legs, arms and voice. We all have the potential to live ‘as you go’ supernatural lives.  Sadly, even though Jesus lives in billions of people world-wide He is imprisoned by a cultural lie that tells us that the supernatural is just make-believe and only for TV shows.

Jesus is relevant and real and He is still using His church, which is you and me, to deliver the supernatural to a world that so desperately needs it. Let what is in you come out of you!

Maybe your reading this blog post and you need a supernatural act of God in your circumstances. You’ve done everything you can do and you’re at breaking point. Something has just got to give and right now your in a place that you have nothing to lose. Maybe you need a healing miracle for yourself or someone you love, maybe you need a financial miracle or you need breakthrough in a relationship with someone.  Maybe  you need a miracle that can supernaturally free you from an addiction that is robbing you of joy in your life. Maybe you’ve been trying to get pregnant and you’ve lost all hope that it will ever happen for you. Whatever your need, Jesus absolutely loves you and cares about that miracle you need, and so do I.

I absolutely want you to hear this – I will stand with you and believe and pray for the miraculous breakthrough you need in your life or in the life of someone you love. My email address is at the bottom of this post. May God give you the tiniest seed of faith and courage right now to do that, to send me an email to ask me to pray. I promise you that I will do it. I am committed to getting INVOLVED!  Better still, If you live anywhere near Australia then come to a Planetshakers Miracle and Testimony Service held every Sunday night at 5.30 pm at the Melbourne City Campus. God is showing up and doing miracles. There is one with your name on it. I don’t care if you’re not a christian, I don’t care if you’re a buddhist, I don’t care if you’re an atheist,  if you need a miracle – COME! If you click on the link below you can get the address details and if you let me know you’re coming I’ll meet you there!

Your miracle awaits you, give God a chance to turn your life and your situation around!

Planetshakers

My private email address: blogsidebyside@gmail.com

Peace be with you. Over and Out,

Catherine xo

One Comment to “My First Rendezvous with a Miracle”

  1. Reblogged this on By the Blood of the Lamb and commented:
    This is an awesome testimony of the supernatural power of God!

Leave a Reply

