Light Bulb!

I have been a Christian for 25 years and sometimes I think I know some stuff and then God in his infinite wisdom takes my blinders off and I have a realisation that is both profound and fundamentally life changing.  I’ve  had a major God – given realisation recently that was so massive that I have experienced a complete paradigm shift in my thinking.  It didn’t just happen, God made it happen through different agents of change that He bought about in my life over the last few years.

The Johari window is a self-awareness tool created by Joseph Luft and Harrington Ingham in 1955. It helps people to better understand their relationship with self and others.  It looks like a window with four quadrants. Something like this:

Quadrant 1: Known Self

These are things we know about ourselves and others know about us: Example: These things are obvious like – you have blue eyes or brown hair or you laugh like a hyena

Quadrant 2 :  Hidden Self:

Things we know about ourselves that others do not know. Example: These are our secrets. The things we hide from others.

Quadrant 3: Blind Self:

Things others know about us that we do not know. Example: These are our personal ‘blind spots’. I remember a good friend once telling me I had ‘small nostrils’. I ran to the bathroom and to my surprise for the first time in 40 years I noticed this too!

Quadrant 4: Unknown Self:

Things neither we nor others know about us. Given that I hold a Christian worldview I would rename this window ‘What God knows’. These are the things God knows about me and that I and others don’t.

For me, the rarest form of realisations come in quadrant number 4. When they happen your world is changed forever. It’s as if  God aligns all the planets in a row  causing a rare and beautiful eclipse which results in an unprecedented A-HA light bulb moment.  It’s like He wonderfully orchestrates all these little happenstances that suddenly reveal this amazing thing and when your eyes see it they are so blinded they can’t remember what they saw before.

Ever since I can remember I’ve wanted to be famous. As maturity, a Christ centred mindset and middle age set in, commonsense has prevailed. I’ve realised that I don’t want to be ‘really famous’ just probably highly regarded, paid to do what I love and allowed in any and all ‘green rooms’. There is a possibility that I may have gotten all that, slim but possible (please no laughing). So this is it then. When Jesus came to Earth He didn’t go for a prominent position with the Sanhedrin (the big religious group of his day) or put up notices about town saying ‘Hi, I’m Jesus the Son of God’. He just loved the crap out of 12 people over a period of 3 ½ years and made such an incredible and undeniable impact on them that they went on to effectively proselytize the rest of the known living world. Jesus was a man who loved people so brilliantly and served them so fully that they in turn lived the rest of their lives totally sold out to every idea and thought vocalised by Him when He was alive. Most of them suffered death for His name. While Christ didn’t seek after high regard, green rooms and being paid for what He loved to do, if He was here today He would have all of that and more.

Soooo, here it comes….if I can just do that, love people and serve them with my whole life and heart with the same love that Jesus did then I will have everything that I ever wanted and more. And that folks is something I am completely sold out to. I don’t need money, fame or green rooms. I want to love God and love others with everything that is within me for as long as I draw breath.

Whatever life I have left all I want to do is LOVE!

Over and Out,

Catherine xoxo

Leave a Reply

